Skip to content

not just any speck on the map

09/18/2010

I awoke this morning feeling like I had just returned from time abroad, although yesterday I returned only from a 15-minute ferry ride away where I had been camping for three days and two nights with my seventh graders.  I am extremely lucky to live in the beautiful little city of Portland, Maine, where the air is salty and the view out to sea is dotted with sails and islands.  As my husband, dog, and I paused this morning to look out from our usual walk atop the Eastern Promenade overlooking the Casco Bay, I spotted Cow Island just off the tip of Great Diamond.  What a funny feeling to look out at a seemingly nondescript lump of trees sticking out of the ocean, and to think that just yesterday I was ziplining upside-down across the center of that lump, and then listening to each of my advisory group students reflect on how they had grown individually and as a group during the last 3 days.   Remembering our first circle debrief on day one, in which  10 twelve and thirteen-year-olds could not help but to repeatedly interrupt each other with nervous giggles and forced jokes and could not sustain a silent pause of more than one second, I marveled at that final memory of  thoughtful reflection peppered by more sparse and less nervous giggles, and I sent a smile across the water to that not-so-insignificant speck on the water.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/21/2010 8:35 pm

    Maine is so beautiful. I can only imagine how lovely your camping trip was. Sometimes staying close to home can feel like so far away when we’re with the right people doing the right things.

  2. 09/21/2010 9:55 pm

    What a great way to spend time getting to know kids. Lucky that this has not been taken away for more time given to test prep,
    Bonnie

  3. Wanda Brown permalink
    09/22/2010 6:13 am

    Sounds like your adventure was well worth it. It is wonderful that you can see the lump of trees to spark your memory.

Leave a Reply

